Debatable

I am making a comeback to the HHS debate scene this weekend by helping with the tournament and (hopefully) nurturing the growth of our novice policy teams by dabbling in a little teaching. I was excited because I love the coach, and because I always want to give back to things that have helped me out.

But I was not ready for how excited I actually am. I mean, truth be told, I’m terrified. I always am when it comes to this stuff. I sucked at debate in high school. Outside of a successful run with the Law of the Sea Treaty and the most dramatic debate experience surrounding Supreme Court Justices in State Debate 2005, I did nothing of note except bring Spongebob on trips. My lack of high school triumphs, coupled with my complete and utter ignorance of everything going on in the world (including this year’s topic: Resolved: The United States Federal Government should substantially increase social services for persons living in poverty in the United States) means I’m not the most adept teacher for our budding policy peons.

Still, that doesn’t squash my complete exhilaration at being back in the round. It’s about 1 am right now and I am on a total adrenaline rush because I just spent the last hour researching Topicality (my favorite). Who cares about those novice I have to teach on Friday morning? This is a kind of natural high I haven’t felt in a very, very, very long time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

