A Reader’s Digest

I am going off to school in roughly three months. Three months. That’s both a long time and no time at all. It’s plenty of time for me to tackle my before-leaving TDL, and plenty of time for me to hang with all my friends here, but not enough time to tackle the stack of books I’ve had growing in my room this year. A lot of these are books I’ve convinced myself I need to read before grad school. The others are ones I want to read because I won’t have time once I’m there. And if the stack is already this big, how big can we anticipate it to be in two years? Ah!

A Study in Scarlet, Doyle
The Sign of Four, Doyle
The Hound of the Baskervilles, Doyle
The Valley of Fear, Doyle
Bar Book, Sheehan
Esther Waters, Moore
David Copperfield,  Dickens
Tess of the d’Urbervilles, Hardy
Middlemarch, Eliot
The Mill on the Floss, Eliot
Vanity Fair, Thackery *
Bleak House, Dickens
The Woman in White, Collins
The Lazy Tour of Two Apprentices, Dickens + Collins
Armadale, Collins
Villette, Bronte
Don Juan, Byron *
Paradise Lost, Milton
Little Dorrit, Dickens
Persuasion, Austen
Mansfield Park, Austen
The Crimson Petal and the White, Faber
Rabbit Heart, Hitchcock
My Sister’s Keeper, Picoult
Olive Kitteridge, Strout
The Shadow of the Wind, Zafon
Water for Elephants, Gruen
The Lord of the Rings, Tolkien
Blind Side, Coulter
Tipping the Velvet, Waters
Affinity, Waters
Dubliners, Joyce
Three Novels, Beckett
The Law of Dreams, Behrens
Odyssey, Homer
The Reverend Guppy’s Aquarium, Dodd
The Wild Irish, Maxwell
Retribution, Hoffman
We All Went to Paris, Longstreet
The Mysteries of Udolpho *

I have this dreams of being able to cross out all of these before school starts. However, realism is my default, so I’m basically posting ambitions that will only be partially realized. Eh, oh well. Publicly using strikethrough will hopefully bully me into making it through most of the list. Edit: 1. An asterisk means I need to read the book for next semester, too. Bonus! 2. Strikethrough won’t work! I’ve tried a million times. So, I’m now using bold to highlight my finished reads.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A Reader’s Digest

  1. “Tess of the D’Urbervilles” and “Water for Elephants” are two of my favorite books. That’s a crazy ambitious list, but you’ll be awesomeee.

    • kmcguirk

      Ah! I am so glad to hear that someone likes Tess. I’ve never heard anything about it. Looks like it’ll be my next book. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

