The Most Wonderful Time

…of the year is school supply shopping.

I know I’m not alone in saying this. I know millions of people love the back-to-school sales. It all started with that kindergarten supply list, and it continues for the rest of your life. Every fall you can’t help but peruse the isles of markdowns, and slide your fingers over the yet-to-be-deflowered Sharpies, Post-Its, and colored paper clips. The smell of Crayolas, the crisp click of a new three-ring binder, and the burning white pages of a new college rule notebook…

I’m sorry, I got lost in the sensuality of it all. Since that fateful list in the fall of 1992, I’ve accumulated hundreds of pens, pencils, markers and crayons. I have at least 15 unfinished notebooks and an equal number of binders. I have rulers, pencil cases, erasers, and even some loose-leaf paper. So this time of the year is generally just a big tease for me. I try to be prudent and reduce, reuse, recycle. My one splurge is a planner.

But this year, on the cusp of two more years in the educational system, I re-entered the office supply isle at Target. My boss had some pretty good advice about actually enjoying the stuff you’ll be using in an insanely hard environment. So, I copied her and gave in to some flashy binders.

School is sexy. And oh how good it feels.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Most Wonderful Time

  1. mmmmm. i share this love with you. i just happened upon a little Taiwanese stationary store the other day. i’m in big trouble.

  2. Rachel

    Pretty binders, sticky notes, pens, et cetera are guaranteed to make your life better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

