Bears.

Generally, there are just bad news bears. But today, since I have some bad news to divulge, and I will also include some good news I’ve been meaning to post, but I’ve just been too lazy to do so.

Bad News Bears

My cousin, a web guy with Conde Nast, got laid off. I’m super bummed for him. He’s amazing and has worked there forever, and now he is thrown back into the scariest market/job pool on the planet.

The Midwest is absolutely saturated. It’s no flood of ’08, but it’s not great. This is the last week in May, more or less, and we may not get crops planted in South Dakota. This is really scary. My dad taught me a little about what happens with rain and planting season, but not what happens if it rains the entire planting season and doesn’t dry out in time. It’s scary. The families we farm with are great people. I hate to think the worst–but it’s hard not to. Thankfully beans can be planted into June, but corn is pretty limited. My thoughts and prayers are with all Midwest farmers.

Good News Bears

I’m a personal attendant! My wonderful friend and ex-roomie Emily is getting married in June. Months ago she asked me to be her personal attendant, and although I don’t exactly know what it entails, I am STOKED. I purchased something obnoxiously awesome for the big day, and I’m so happy for her. I’ll be trekking up to her hometown this weekend for a bridal shower, and I’m looking forward to it.

I’m also a bridesmaid! Remember my cousin who got engaged? Well, Easter weekend I got a card from her in the mail, asking me to be a bridesmaid. I’m thrilled for a million reasons: she’s happy, her fiance is a perfect addition to the family, and she’s the closest thing I had to a sister for 20 years (then the sorority added  a few more ladies to that role). I’m actually honored she asked me, which sounds a little dorky. But what can I say–that’s no surprise.

Usher concert post still to come, promise.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

