Your Worst Enemy

Occasionally, I remember Brand New and the music I loved in high school. Sure, I’ve had friendships and relationships end in heartbreak, despair, disappointment, and disbelief: a burning mass of heart and feelings. But as bad as I was, I don’t think I’ve ever wished this upon their asses.

Is that what you call a getaway?
Tell me what you got away with,
‘Cause I’ve seen more spine in jellyfish.
I’ve seen more guts in eleven-year-old kids.
Have another drink and drive yourself home – 
I hope there’s ice on all the roads,
And you can think of me when you forget your seatbelt,
And again when your head goes through the windshield.
-Seventy Times Seven

Hah. So bad, so good. That’s cruel.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Your Worst Enemy

Leave a Reply

