Tiny tubs and twitters

Screen Shot 2017-04-19 at 10.52.35 AMFour years ago today, in NOLA, I really started to put myself out there for my job. When no one else on staff was, I started embracing social media in the design world. It was the coolest thing. I showed up to events and people knew me, and I knew them. I knew some of the things growing under the industry’s surface before they broke. This tiny tub represents a turning point in my career (and the industry, in many ways). A few months later, I was in Spain, consuming sangria and learning a new level of professionalism and personality.
A lot of that was a mix of fortuitous timing and having been in the biz for quite a while. But honestly, I really worked for it, too. I was, and still am, so proud of the relationships I made doing my job. It couldn’t save the magazine, but it made, and continues to make, my life a hell of a lot more enjoyable.
Now, four years later, I’m attending my first library conference (arguably the trade show of my new profession), gratis, in exchange for doing social media for the event. This was partially the result of getting asked to join the library association’s editorial board. So at this conference, I’ll also be interviewing people for a story in our next publication.
Full circle? I don’t know, but it feels good. 
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

